Twelve Years

No, I really shouldn’t try to capture all my feelings for my wife in this post. But I’m going to try anyway.

I had this corny idea while riding around looking for baking powder in a vain attempt to cook a coffee cake for my baby. Mind you, every time I’ve attempted breakfast in bed, she’s smiled, drank the orange juice, had a couple of bites and gave me the pass with the “I’m already full” line.  (She swears she really is…It’s ok baby, I know – we do it to the kids too when they cook.)  But since my cooking bit the dust before it started, and our date to Miami’s neo-soul food spot got pushed back due to fatigue and frantic rushing from church (two things we desperately need to break away from soon) and because words are free and we both agreed not to spend wildly on each other (at least, I think she agreed. Should have made sure of that.), here’s my silly but sincere holiday – themed anthem to the one that has put up with such antics for 12 of the best years of my life.
My wife and some goofy dude with a shiny head.

THE TWELVE YEARS OF MARRIAGE

On the first year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

A promise everlasting.

On the second year of marriage, my true love gave to me

Two lives as one, and a promise everlasting.

On the third year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Three brilliant kids, two lives as one, and a promise everlasting.

On the fourth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one, and a promise everlasting.

On the fifth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Five shows of HGTV!

Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the sixth year of marriage, my true love gave to me

Six days of head-rubs, five shows of HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the seventh year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows of HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the eighth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Eight family game nights, Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows of HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the ninth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Nine delicious dinners, Eight family game nights, Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows of HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the tenth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Ten trips to Starbucks, Nine delicious dinners, Eight family game nights, Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows of HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the eleventh year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Eleven witty comebacks, Ten trips to Starbucks, Nine delicious dinners, Eight family game nights, Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows on HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one and a promise everlasting.

On the twelveth year of marriage, my true love gave to me:

Twelve sighs of patience, Eleven witty comebacks, Ten trips to Starbucks, Nine delicious dinners, Eight family game nights, Seven flirty glances, six days of head-rubs,  five shows on HGTV…Four second chances, three brilliant kids, two lives as one –

and a promise everlasting.

Happy 12th, Butterfly.  I LOVE YOU!!!

Allen

2 thoughts on “Twelve Years

Leave a Reply

